mt-daapd Automatic Startup Upon Ubuntu Startup [solved]

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues mt-daapd Automatic Startup Upon Ubuntu Startup [solved]

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    onedotseven
    Participant

Hello,

First I’m sorry if this has been already answered or if it’s a dumb question. I’m a newbie and couldn’t find an answer (or at least an easy one).

I installed Firefly on my Ubuntu system. I think this was successful: if I type mt-daapd in a terminal session, Firefly starts up and I can then access my music collection in Rhythmbox, Banshee and even in iTunes on a Windows computer on the same network.

Now I would love to not have to start Firefly with a command line every time I log in my computer… Is there a way for mt-daapd to be automatically launch upon Ubuntu start-up? I checked into the Services Startup options, but couldn’t find anything.

Thanks for your help πŸ™‚

Oh, and thanks for such a great software! Next step will be to buy a shiny new SoundBridge πŸ™‚

rpedde
    Participant

@onedotseven wrote:

I installed Firefly on my Ubuntu system. I think this was successful: if I type mt-daapd in a terminal session, Firefly starts up and I can then access my music collection in Rhythmbox, Banshee and even in iTunes on a Windows computer on the same network.

How did you install it, from a tarball, or a package.

If there is a file called “/etc/init.d/mt-daapd”, then you already have a startup script. As root, running “/etc/init.d/mt-daapd start” should start the server, and “/etc/init.d/mt-daapd stop” should stop the server.

If so, then you can just do something like:

foo@bar:~$ sudo update-rc.d mt-daapd defaults

… or I should say, that’s how one would do it on debian. I can only assume it’s the same with ubuntu.

If you don’t have a /etc/init.d/mt-daapd, then try saving this file as “mt-daapd” in /etc/init.d, and use the “update-rc.d” command above.