When do we get playlists back?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Mike
    Participant

For those of us that aren’t sharing an iTunes folder but instead just a directory(s) of mp3 files to iTunes clients, can we get our mt-daapd.playlist support back?

jkp

/me raises his hand in support of the request as well 🙂

rpedde
    Participant

The .playlist file isn’t coming back. It’s been replaced by sql queries.

Unfortunately, the progress on the replacement is slow. Mostly because I’m not a web developer. I don’t know javascript very well, so I’m learning as I go along.

That, and there is no decent javascript development environment — debuggers suck, there is no stable feature set across browsers, and leveling libraries aren’t mature yet.

I’m figuring it out, though… it’s just slow.

— Ron

jholt

Ron, are you talking about the web interface to playlists? Perhaps this is something I can work on. I know JavaScript, and I’m working on something similar for the Library browser. I was wondering what that dead playlist page was all about…

Further out, I was thinking it might be cool to be able to view a playlist (read-only) with a URL, such as …/playlist/.

rpedde
    Participant

Yeah, I’ve played with the stuff too, and it’s tough to get something that works on safari, ff and ie.

the smart.html file is mine — it was going to be where I started working on a sql parser.

Right now, the smart playlists are actually sql “where” clauses, but it occurs to me that it won’t be very portable, plus there are some things that are difficult to do with sql. (randomized playlists, for example).

So I’ve started to think that perhaps the smart playlists as stored in the database should be some kind of database-neutral specification (kind of like the old .playlist file) that gets turned into a database-specific query.