Stablest Nightly?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Eric Boring
    Participant

Hi,

I am running the stable mt-daapd on Ubuntu 6.06 and enjoying it very much. But I took a look at the Firefly 1.0 distributed by Roku on my Windows machine, and I really like the look of its playlist management.

Which nightly is most stable for now? Also, can anyone show me some info on installing one of the those tar.gz files? I have zero experience with compiling. (Is that what this would require?)

Thanks for any help in advance.

-E

fizze
    Participant

well, I had svn-1400 running for like 60 days on my NSLU2.
    Cant really say much about 1433 or what it is now – it has been running since 1400 crashed and I updated ๐Ÿ˜‰

the reason for the crash was a full disk, btw ๐Ÿ˜‰

rpedde
    Participant

@Eric Boring wrote:

Hi,

I am running the stable mt-daapd on Ubuntu 6.06 and enjoying it very much. But I took a look at the Firefly 1.0 distributed by Roku on my Windows machine, and I really like the look of its playlist management.

Which nightly is most stable for now? Also, can anyone show me some info on installing one of the those tar.gz files? I have zero experience with compiling. (Is that what this would require?)

Thanks for any help in advance.

-E

I think 1450 has some memory leaks. svn-1359 is what the 1.0 is, and that’s pretty stable.

Eric Boring
    Participant

Sorry to keep beating this dead horse, but if I went to a nightly, would it use the same config file I’m using for the stable release?

Would I just install the debian package and that would overrite the current install, or should I install the stable version first?

Are there other steps to take to get the nightly running in stead of the stable?

Thanks again for any advice.

-E

rpedde
    Participant

@Eric Boring wrote:

Sorry to keep beating this dead horse, but if I went to a nightly, would it use the same config file I’m using for the stable release?