Missing a Piece of the Jigsaw?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I think I am misunderstanding something fundamental. I’m new to music servers, etc. I have mt-daapd installed and running (17-Jan-06 nightly) on a Linux box. I have the latest iTunes installed and running on my Windows laptop, and I can see the music files.

Problems:

I don’t see the default playlists defined in mt-daapd.conf in iTunes.

I can’t seem to create any playlists in iTunes. The help says to create an empty playlist and then drag music files to it. It doesn’t let me drag any music files from the mt-daapd server to a playlist and my Library is empty. Am I missing a step here?

Note that the files mt-daapd is serving are on a Samba share, mapped to a network drive – incase that helps.

Thanks for the help!

Andy

Post edited by: ajayre, at: 2006/02/23 04:16

rpedde
    Participant

Apple’s daap client (iTunes) is crippled in a number of respects with regard to what it can do with remote files. Songs that are shared by another iTunes client can’t be burned to cd, arranged in playlists, etc. So that part has to do with iTunes, not mt-daapd.

As far as the playlists go, between november and january (ish) playlists haven’t worked on nightlies. Since Januaryish, though, they do, but now they are edited via the web interface instead of in a file, having the advantage that they take effect immediately (without having to restart the server). You’ll want to take a look at the notes on the nightlies page, as that’s pretty much the only place the smart playlist language is documented, although there is a wizardy thing to help build playlists.

It will read standard m3u files, though, too, so if you have those it should work.

Is your music library a mirror of an iTunes library? If so, then by copying your iTunes Music Library.xml file into the top of the mp3_dir, mt-daapd will read your playlist info from itunes.