MIPSEL Linkstation and iTunes Fix

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues MIPSEL Linkstation and iTunes Fix

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    jgwcouk

I am no Linux expert…

I have 0.2.1.1 working fine on a MIPSEL-based Buffalo LinkStation, and it serves my Roku M1000 brilliantly.

However, iTunes can’t browse it – has anyone successfully applied the iTunes fix to this setup? My trawlings of the web have drawn a blank. I can’t even work out how I ever got mt-daapd working on the LinkStation in the first place!

Any advice for a newbie…?

velociped
    Participant

Which version of iTunes?

On which platform is it installed?

You are likely experiencing a compatibility and/or networking issue, but we need more information to help you diagnose it.

–HIM

jgwcouk

velociped wrote:
    Which version of iTunes?

On which platform is it installed?

MCE 2005 (fully patched)

You are likely experiencing a compatibility and/or networking issue, but we need more information to help you diagnose it.

–HIM

iTunes can see the server but cannot browse it.

Post edited by: jgwcouk, at: 2006/02/19 13:18

Post edited by: jgwcouk, at: 2006/02/19 14:38

velociped
    Participant

There are numerous threads in the forum as well as several FAQ entries on the subject of getting Windows and the DAAP to play well together. Chief among them is to ensure that the built-in Windows firewall is letting TCP port 3689 and UDP port 5353 packets through. If you are "seeing" the share, but cannot play anything, it is likely the UDP port which is being blocked.

Check those settings and let us know if corerction solves your problem.

If the WinXP box is properly configured, check any router which may be between them, especially if the Roku and the MCE hardware use different networking protocols (e.g. one is hardwired and the other uses 802.11x).

–Herman

jgwcouk