Complete Newbie: Web Server, PHP, MySQL (Ubuntu-Feisty)

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues Complete Newbie: Web Server, PHP, MySQL (Ubuntu-Feisty)

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    re2st
    Participant

I decided to upgrade to Feisty since I had no luck getting Firefly run on it (I gave up, thanks Fizze.. but I gave up on those..)

This might be a very stupid basic question, but I don’t know where else to ask. Do I have to install and configure all the Web Server (Apache), PHP, and MySQL to be able to run Firefly and successfully connect to it from my Soundbridge?

I remember I did install all those when I tried on Ubuntu-Dapper (and managed to show the PHP4 and PHP5 test page).

And also, do I need anything else besides all those and Firefly to stream the songs? Do I need to install stuff like Banshee or Jizora as the Media Player?

Thank you so much for the help!

Osik
    Participant

Hey,

I’m using Firefly on my FreeBSD Server. To run a firefly server u dont need
    to install all the webstuff, like Apache or Lighttpd (last is the better on
    *smile*), or php and so on. Firefly has a built in webserver. After installing it
    and configuring the mt-daapd.conf you can start the server and join the
    webinterface with the address of the service and the port which u set in the
    config file ๐Ÿ˜‰

Greetz

Osik

re2st
    Participant

Hey!

Thanks for the quick reply.

Does it make any difference the fact that I’m using Ubuntu – Feisty Desktop version instead of Server version (you mentioned you’re running FreeBSD Server)?

Osik
    Participant

FreeBSD isn’t in my opinion no Desktop OS, you can use it, but it is for sure an Server OS. Thats why i’m saying FreeBSD Server. But in fact there isn’t a difference. It’s only FreeBSD *smile*

Back to your question: It should be no problem. Because the system internals are quite the same ๐Ÿ˜‰

Greetz

Osik

rpedde
    Participant